Board of Trustees

The Institute’s Board comprises five Officers elected to a once renewable three-year term – a Board Chair, a President who is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Institute in the US, and in cooperation with the Director in Israel – and twenty-seven Trustees.  Trustees, both academic and non-academic, serve a three-year term, with no term limit.  Trustees serve on committees and must attend at least one of the two annual board meetings.  Both Officers and Trustees are expected to make an annual contribution to the Operations Budget of the Institute.

W. F. Albright Board of Trustees - 2019-2020


  • Joan R. Branham, Chair, Providence College, Providence, Rhode Island
  • J.P. Dessel, President, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Bjorn Lindgren,  Treasurer,  Houston, Texas
  • Carol Meyers, Vice President, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
  • Beth Alpert Nakhai,  Secretary,  University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona


  • Andrea Berlin, Boston University, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Elizabeth Bloch-Smith, St Joseph University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Oded Borowski, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Susan Cohen, Montana State University, Bozeman, Montana
  • Sidnie W. Crawford, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Weston Fields, Kodiak, Alaska
  • Jennifer Gates-Foster, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • Edward L. Greenstein, Bar-Ilan University, Ramat Gan, Israel
  • James Hardin, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, Mississippi
  • Jacqueline Haynes, Potomac, Maryland
  • John Jorgensen, Adamstown, Maryland
  • Donald Kane, Potomac, Maryland
  • Carroll Kobs, Fort Worth, Texas
  • W. Mark Lanier, Houston, Texas
  • Nat Levtow, University of Montana, Missoula, Montana
  • Peter Machinist, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Steven Ortiz, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas
  • David Rosenstein, Washington, DC
  • Lee R. Seeman, Great Neck, New York
  • Cynthia Shafer-Elliott, William Jessup University, Rocklin, California
  • James Riley Strange, Samford University, Birmingham, Alabama
  • David Vanderhooft, Boston College, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Daniel Wolk, New York, New York


  • Walter E. Aufrecht, University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
  • Vivian A. Bull, Madison, New Jersey
  • Edward F. Campbell, Scarborough, Maine
  • William G. Dever, Emeritus, University of Arizona, Tuscon, Arizona
  • Patty Gerstenblith, DePaul University, Chicago, Illinois
  • Seymour Gitin, Dorot Director Emeritus, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Norma Kershaw, Mission Viejo, California
  • Eric M. Meyers, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
  • Joe D. Seger, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, Mississippi
  • Lydie Shufro, New York, New York
  • John R. Spencer,  John Carroll University,  San Diego, California
  • J. Edward Wright, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona